Inaugural Recipient of WNAR Outstanding Impact Award and Lectureship

Congratulations to Dr. Bin Yu, UC Berkeley!

Dr. Bin Yu is the Chancellor’s Distinguished Professor and Class of 1936 Second Chair in the Departments of Statistics and Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences at UC Berkeley. Dr Yu’s nomination package clearly demonstrated her fundamental contributions in both statistical theory and practice, which has lasting impacts across the fields of statistics and interdisciplinary domains; her high visible role model, especially for women researchers in multiple disciplines; and her outstanding leadership in professional and community services that positively influenced advancement in and recognition of Biometrics. Dr. Yu will give a talk in the WNAR Outstanding Impact Award Lecture at the JSM on Monday, August 8, 2022, 10:30 in Session 121 entitled "Principles for Impactful Data Science and Statistics: Lessons Learned from Covid-19 Forecasting and Beyond." More information about the award can be found on the award's website.

Call for Nominations:

Call for IBS/WNAR Outstanding Impact Award and Lectureship here.

Important Dates:

Nominations for IBS/WNAR Outstanding Impact Award and Lectureship due January 15, 2023

Links to more information on WNAR Awards:

IBS/WNAR Outstanding Impact Award and Lectureship

WNAR Student Paper Competition

WNAR President Invited Presentation

Frequently Asked Questions:


WNAR Awards Committee Membership

 2021-2022 Ying Lu Stanford University
  Neby Bekele Exelixis
  Theirry Chekouotekou University of Calgary
  Dongseok Choi Oregon Health Sciences University
  Fei Gao  Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center
  Katerina Kechris University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
  Jingyi Li University of California Los Angeles

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software